Tutorial 2: My Experience with RSS Feeds

What do you get when you search up the definition of RSS?

Here is what google gives us:

RSS (Rich Site Summary; originally RDF Site Summary; often called Really Simple Syndication), uses a family of standard web feed formats to publish frequently updated information: blog entries, news headlines, audio, video. – Google

RSS feeds are not news to me at all. I have had my fair share in use of them from both the content receiver and provider perspectives. I have run many blogs in the past in which I have set up RSS feeds for my readers to subscribe to. I have also subscribed to RSS feeds of blogs and new sites that I frequent so that I get daily or weekly updates on the most relevant content that I am looking to read to be informed about. This helps me keep in the loop with the topics that I am interested, which include Gaming, Technology, Fitness, Cooking, Health, Design, and Business.

RSS feeds used to just be accessible via one RSS page on the web, but nowadays they can be accessed through many different ways and using many different platforms. There are hundreds of different ways that you can now aggregate an RSS feed. Feedburner is the platform that I used to send out my RSS feeds from multiple websites that I owned to readers who subscribed to them. Another popular RSS feed platform is Flipboard. It allows you to add an RSS feed from any website you would like and delivers the content to you in such a clean and readable way directly to your tablet or mobile phone. Their tagline explains it best, it’s like “your personal magazine”.

As the definition says, Really Simple Syndication is why RSS feeds just work. They take the updates from websites and push them to a reader in an easy to read format that they can customize in terms of design, look, readability, schedule etc.

Leave a Reply

