Introduction

Hey! My name is Dylan Didiano and I am a first-year New Media student at Ryerson University. Last year, I attended York University for English. Fortunately, I came to my senses half way through the year and said to myself “What am I even doing here?” I immediately withdrew and applied to New Media at Ryerson. My life-long passion has always been the sport of hockey. Growing up watching the Toronto Maple Leafs get worse and worse (further and further from another Stanley Cup), is only one of the many reason that influences my passion. I had a natural sense for the sport, although unlike my younger brother, I did not have the luxury of starting at the age of 4. I began to actually play hockey when I was 12, quite a late start for a sport that requires years of practice and training.

Over the past 5 years, I’ve grown an interest in graphic design and technology. I’ve done paid freelance designing online for people around the world and I’ve learned a lot over the years, but I do have much more to learn and I am eager to do so. This is why I have chosen to take part in the New Media program at Ryerson. In this particular class I expect to gain new knowledge and skills related to the field and learn how to incorporate it into digital productions.

What I imagine we might be learning in New Media Research Methodologies is how New Media is constantly changing and evolving with society and how we, as creative individuals, can portray our own thoughts and ideas in co-relation with New Media.

One thought on “Introduction

  1. I did the exact same thing! Went to Laurier last year for ENGLISH, halfway through literally said “What am I doing here!!?!?” and withdrew to come to Ryerson New Media. – the more you know

Leave a Reply

